Name	Date of Appointment		Date of Assumption of Office	
VISCOUNT MONCK, G.C.M.G. LORD LISGAR, G.C.M.G. The EARL OF DUFFERIN, K.P., K.C.B., G.C.M.G. The MARQUIS OF LORNE, K.T., G.C.M.G. CORD STANLEY OF PRESTON, G.C.B. The EARL OF MINTO, G.C.M.G. The EARL OF MINTO, G.C.M.G. FIELD MARSHAL H.R.H. The DUKE OF CONNAUGHT, K.G. FIELD MARSHAL H.R.H. The DUKE OF CONNAUGHT, K.G. The DUKE OF DEVONSHIKE, K.G., G.C.M.G., G.C.V.O. GENERAL THE LORD BYNG OF VINY, G.C.B., G.C.M.G., M.V.O. VISCOUNT WILLINGON OF RATTON, G.C.S.I., G.C.I.E., G.B.E. The EARL OF BESSBOROUGH, G.C.M.G., G.C.V.O., C.H. MAJOR-GENERAL THE EARL OF AFTLONE, K.G., P.C., G.C.B., G.C.M.G., G.C.V.O., D.S.O. FIELD MARSHAL VISCOUNT ALEXANDER OF TUNIS, K.G., G.C.B., G.C.M.G., C.S.I., D.S.O., M.C., A.D.C. The Right HONOURABLE VINCENT MASSEY, C.H.	Dec. 2 May 2 Oct. May 2 May 2 July 3 Sept. 2 Mar. 2 Aug. 1 Aug. Feb. Aug. 1 Apr. Aug.	1, 1867 9, 1867 2, 1872 5, 1878 8, 1883 1, 1888 2, 1893 0, 1898 6, 1904 1, 1911 9, 1916 2, 1921 5, 1926 9, 1931 0, 1935 3, 1940 1, 1945	Feb. June Nov. Oct. Nov. Dec. Oct. Nov. Aug. Oct. Apr.	1, 1867 2, 1869 25, 1872 25, 1872 25, 1878 23, 1883 11, 1888 10, 1904 13, 1911 11, 1916 2, 1926 4, 1931 2, 1935 21, 1940 22, 1946 28, 1952

1.—Governors General of Canada since Confederation

The Cabinet.—Canada's system of responsible government provides for a Cabinet or Ministry composed of members of the House of Commons or the Senate. The Cabinet is a committee of the Queen's Privy Council for Canada. Without enlarging upon the features of the system, it may be sufficient to note that the Cabinet is responsible to the House of Commons, initiates nearly all the legislation placed before Parliament and, following established precedent, resigns office when it becomes evident that it no longer holds the confidence of the representatives of the people. Its members are chosen by the Prime Minister and each generally assumes charge of one of the various departments of government, although a Minister may hold more than one portfolio at the same time, or may be without portfolio.

Ministry	Prime Minister	Length of Administration		
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9	Rt. Hon. Sir John Alexander Macdonald Hon. Alexander Mackenzie Rt. Hon. Sir John Alexander Macdonald Hon. Sir John Joseph Caldwell Abbott Rt. Hon. Sir John Sparrow David Thompson Hon. Sir Charles Tupper. Hon. Sir Charles Tupper. Rt. Hon. Sir Wilfrid Laurier. Rt. Hon. Sir Robert Laird Borden	Nov. 7, 1873 - Oct. 16, 1878 Oct. 17, 1878 - June 6, 1891 June 16, 1891 - Nov. 24, 1892 Dec. 5, 1892 - Dec. 12, 1894 Dec. 21, 1894 - Apr. 27, 1896 May 1, 1896 - July 8, 1896 July 11, 1896 - Oct. 6, 1911		
10	Rt. Hon. Sir Robert Laird Borden			
11	Rt. Hon. ARTHUR MEIGHEN			
12 13 14 15 16 17	Rt. Hon. WILLIAM LYON MACKENZIE KING Rt. Hon. ARTHUR MEIGREN. Rt. Hon. WILLIAM LYON MACKENZIE KING Rt. Hon. RICHARD BEDFORD BENNETT. Rt. Hon. WILLIAM LYON MACKENZIE KING. Rt. HON. LOUIS STEPHEN ST. LAURENT	Dec. 29, 1921 – June 28, 1926 June 29, 1926 – Sept. 25, 1926 Sept. 25, 1926 – Aug. 6, 1930 Aug. 7, 1930 – Oct. 23, 1935 Oct. 23, 1935 – Nov. 15, 1948		

2.—Prime Ministers since Confederation